Vietnam Bioinformatics and Library Services Development Project:
Vietnamese Medical Librarian - January 2006 Visit
January 8-22, 2006


Vietnamese Medical Librarian Jan 2006 Visit Schedule

Last Updated: Friday, February 10, 2006 12:45 PM (EST)

This is currently the Draft version which will be frozen and printed on Monday, Jan 9, 2006.

January 2006:
Week1 08Sun 09Mon 10Tue 11Wed 12Thu 13Fri 14Sat
Week2: 15Sun 16Mon 17Tue 18Wed 19Thu 20Fri 21Sat
Week3: 22Sun            

All changes from the printed version will be in red.

Day 1: Sunday, Jan 8, 2006 Venue
04:20pm Pick up at baggage claim in Reagan Airport (DCA) on American Airlines Flight 512 from Dallas/Ft Worth transit from Vietnam DCA Airport
  Free time Lodging

Day 2: Monday, Jan 9, 2006 - Day Off Venue
All Day Free Day Lodging

Day 3: Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 - Contact: Diane Boehr [boehrd@nlm.nih.gov - 301.435.7059] Venue
07:00am-08:00am Breakfast Lodging
08:00am Shuttle from the Lodging to NIH departs at 8am, please be prompt  
09:00am-10:00am NLM Tour - Melanie Modlin (NIH/NLM) - modlinm@mail.nlm.nih.gov NLM - Bethesda, MD
10:00am-10:30am Break  
  Bring to Bldg 38a/4th floor training room  
10:30am-05:00pm Use of MeSH in NLM Classification - Diane Boehr

NLM - Bethesda, MD; 38a/4th floor training room

6:00pm Shuttle from the NIH to Lodging departs at 6pm, please be prompt  

Day 4: Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 - Contact: Diane Boehr [boehrd@nlm.nih.gov - 301.435.7059] Venue
07:00am-08:00am Breakfast Lodging
08:00am Shuttle from the Lodging to NIH departs at 8am, please be prompt  
  Bring to Bldg 38a/B2N14 - NCBI Library  
09:00am-03:30pm Lecture/Practical: NLM Classification - Sharon Willis - [301-496-7138; williss@mail.nih.gov] NLM - Bethesda, MD; 38a/B2N14 - NCBI Library
03:45am-05:00pm Discussion: Linkout - Kathy Kwan (kwan@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov) Bldg 45/5th floor core conf room
06:00pm Shuttle from the NIH to Lodging departs at 6pm, please be prompt  

Day 5: Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 - Contact: Diane Boehr [boehrd@nlm.nih.gov - 301.435.7059] Venue
07:00am-08:00am Breakfast Lodging
08:00am Shuttle from the Lodging to NIH departs at 8am, please be prompt  
09:00am-10:00am Meet with Julia Royall - Bldg 38, Room 2S-22 NLM - Bethesda, MD
  Bring to Technical Services Room Division: Bldg 38/1N08  
12:45pm-1:30pm Meet with Marie Sweeney, U.S. Health Attaché - Bldg 38a/3rd floor South conference room NLM - Bethesda, MD
10:00am-05:00pm Lecture/Practical: Anglo-American Cataloguing Rules (AACR2) - Thuy-Anh Dang NLM - Bethesda, MD
06:00pm Shuttle from the NIH to Lodging departs at 6pm, please be prompt  

Day 6: Friday, Jan 13, 2006 - Contact: Diane Boehr [boehrd@nlm.nih.gov - 301.435.7059] Venue
07:00am-08:00am Breakfast Lodging
08:00am Shuttle from the Lodging to NIH departs at 8am, please be prompt  
  Bring to Technical Services Room Division: Bldg 38/1N08  
09:00am-12:30pm Review and answer any questions from first 3 sessions NLM - Bethesda, MD
12:30pm Lunch Discussion with Stuart Nelson and Jacque-Lynne Schulman (NLM/MeSH)  
2:00pm Review: HINARI, PubMed, Linkout - Chuong Huynh NLM - Bethesda, MD
03:30pm Shuttle from the NIH to Lodging departs at 3:30pm, please be prompt  

Day 7: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 - Day Off Venue
  Day Off Lodging

Day 8: Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 - Day Off Venue
  Day Off Lodging

Day 9: Monday, Jan 16, 2006 - Martin Lurther King's Jr. Birthday - Federal Holiday - Free Day Venue
  Free Day Lodging

Day 10: Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 - Library of Congress Visit - Contact: Lien Huong Fiedler [lfie@loc.gov - (202)-707-5720] Venue
07:00am-08:00am Breakfast Lodging
08:00am Shuttle from the Lodging to NIH departs at 8am, please be prompt  
  Metro: Red line from Medical Center to
Directions to LOC: http://www.loc.gov/loc/visit/directions.html
 
09:45am Meet Lien Huong Fiedler at Library of Congress at 9:45am  
10:00am-10:30am Briefing about the Asian Division Collections at the Library of Congress
by Dr. Mi Chu Wiens, Head, Scholarly Services, Asian Division, Library of Congress. Email: mwie@loc.gov
LOC - Washington DC
10:30am-11:45am Briefing about the Vietnamese and Southeast collections of the Asian Division
and tours of the Asian Division and the Great Halls by Lien Huong Fiedler, Reference Librarian, Vietnam and Southeast Asia, Asian Division, Library of Congress. Email: lfie@loc.gov
LOC - Washington DC
1:30pm-02:15pm Briefing on Vietnamese medical libraries by Vietnamese participants LOC - Washington DC
02:30pm-03:15pm Briefing on the digital projects on acquisition and bibliography of the Library of Congress by Allene Hayes, Digital Projects Coordinator, Acquisitions and Bibliographic Access Directorate, Library of Congress. Email: ahay@loc.gov
LOC - Washington DC
03:30pm-04:15pm Briefing on CIP program by John Celli, Head, Cataloging-In-Publications (CIP), Library of Congress. Email: jcell@loc.gov
David Bucknum [dabu@loc.gov]
LOC - Washington DC
06:00pm Shuttle from the NIH to Lodging departs at 6pm, please be prompt  

Day 11: Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 - Johns Hopkins Univ Welch Medical Library Visit - Contact: Barbara Todd [btodd@jhmi.edu - 410-614-6900] - http://www.welch.jhu.edu/ Venue
07:00am-07:30am Breakfast Lodging
07:30am Shuttle from the Lodging to Welch Library departs at 7:30am, please be prompt  
09:00am-09:15am Kate Oliver [koliver@jhmi.edu], Communications and Liaison Services – Greet Visitors in Welch Lobby  
09:15am-09:45am Preparation time for presentation Mezzanine Classroom
09:45am-10:45am Slide Presentation/Brochure to introduce everyone to their institutions
Welch staff participating in visit and all staff invited
Mezzanine Classroom
11:00am-11:45am Will Bryant [wfb@jhmi.edu], Finance and Administration and
Jayne Campbell [jmc@jhmi.edu], Information Services and Education – Touchdown Suites
Mezzanine Classroom
12:00am-1:00pm Lunch – Open to all Welch Staff Mezzanine Classroom
1:15pm-2:00pm Tour with Claire Twose [ctwose1@jhmi.edu] (meet them in mezzanine classroom)  
2:15pm-3:00pm Dongming Zhang [dzhang1@jhmi.edu], Advanced Technology and Information Systems
Mezzanine Classroom
3:15pm-4:00pm Chung Sook Kim [csk@jhmi.edu], Digital Library Services
Mezzanine Classroom
4:00pm-4:45pm Kate Oliver [koliver@jhmi.edu], Communications and Liaison Services
Brian Brown [bbrown20@jhmi.edu]
Claire Twose [ctwose1@jhmi.edu]
Mezzanine Classroom
5:00pm-7:00pm Visit Inner Harbor, Baltimore, Maryland  
07:00pm Shuttle from Inner Harbor to Lodging  

Day 12: Thursday, Jan 19, 2005 - National Institutes of Health (Bldg 10) Library Visit - Contact: Rosalie Stroman [stromanr@ors.od.nih.gov - 301.594.6280], Susan Whitmore [whitmors@ors.od.nih.gov - 301.496.1157], Cindy Clark [clarkc@ors.od.nih.gov - 301.496.2186] Web: http://nihlibrary.nih.gov/ - Venue
07:00am-08:00am Breakfast Lodging
08:00am Shuttle from the Lodging to NIH departs at 8am, please be prompt  
09:00am- 05:00pm NIH Library Visit NIH Library
09:00am-09:30am Welcome; Communications/NIH Library Branding - Cindy Clark [clarkc@ors.od.nih.gov] NIH Library
09:45am-10:30am Tour/Informationist Program - Pam Sieving [sievingp@ors.od.nih.gov] NIH Library
10:30am-11:00am Tour of Hatfield Center - Dera Tompkins [tompkind@ors.od.nih.gov] NIH Library
11:00am-12:00pm Digitization and Loansome Doc - Rosalie H. Stroman [stromanr@ors.od.nih.gov] NIH Library
12:15pm-1:30pm Lunch in Bldg. 10 Cafeteria - All interested staff Bldg 10 Cafeteria
1:30pm-2:00pm Electronic Approval Plan (YBP) - Una Luo [luou@ors.od.nih.gov] and Margarett Kunz [kunzm@ors.od.nih.gov] NIH Library
2:00pm-3:00pm Journals - Jean Weiss [weissj@ors.od.nih.gov] NIH Library
3:00pm-4:00pm Technology/Relais/NIHL Website - Ben Hope [hopeb@ors.od.nih.gov]and Information Technology Office NIH Library
4:00pm-5:00pm Training/Viewlets - Instructions; goodbye - Doug Joubert [joubertd@ors.od.nih.gov] NIH Library
05:00pm Shuttle from the NIH to Lodging departs at 5pm, please be prompt  
     
07:00pm Depart for Maryland area to Hotel in Pittsburgh Pittsburgh

Day 13: Friday, Jan 20, 2006 - University of Pittsburgh's Falk Library of Health Sciences - Barbara A. Epstein [bepstein@pitt.edu - 412-648-7850] Web: http://www.hsls.pitt.edu/ Venue
10:00am Meet in the lobby of Falk Library in Scaife Hall, 2nd floor  
10:00am-11:15am Library tour and demo of HSL Online resources (Barbara Epstein, Director & Nancy Tannery, HSLS Assoc Director for Information Services) Falk Library
11:30am-12:00pm Presentation on Vietnamese medical libraries by Vietnamese visitors (Open to all HSLS staff members)
Falk Library - Conf Room B
12:00pm-02:00pm

Box lunch and round-table discussion with representatives from various Barbara Epstein, Director [bepstein@pitt.edu]
Nancy Tannery, Assoc Director for Information Services [tannery@pitt.edu]
Paul Worona, Assoc Director for Information Technology [worona@pitt.edu]
Gretchen Maxeiner, Cataloging Librarian [maxeiner@pitt.edu]
Fran Yarger, Head of Computing Services (oversees public computing lab) [yarger@pitt.edu]
Phil Bergen - Information Architecture Librarian [bergen@pitt.edu]
Ansuman Chattopadhyay [yic18@pitt.edu] - Information Specialist in Molecular Biology and Genetics
Renae Barger - Reference and Document Delivery Coordinator [rbarger@pitt.edu]
Ammon Ripple, Head of Reference Services (possible) - [ammon2@pitt.edu]
Charles Wessel, Coordinator of Affiliated Hospital Services
[cbw@pitt.edu]

Falk Library - Conf Room B
     
3:30pm?-04:30pm School of Information Sciences - Dr. Ellen Detlefsen [ellen@mail.sis.pitt.edu; http://www2.sis.pitt.edu/~ellen - 412-624-9444]- educational program for health sciences librarians, distance learning program School of Information Sciences
6:00pm-08:00pm Dinner with Beth Fischer (UPMC's Survival Skills and Ethics Program - bfischer@pitt.edu) and Barbara Epstein  
8:00pm Depart from Pittsburgh --> Maryland  

Day 14: Saturday, Jan 21, 2006 - Day Off Venue
  Day Off  

Day 15: Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 - Day Off Venue
06:00am-06:30am Breakfast Lodging
06:30am Depart for Reagan Airport  
08:45-09:30 Departure: American Airlines Flight 4767 at 8:45am --> JFK transit to Vietnam Reagan Airport - DCA

 


Last updated: Friday, February 10, 2006 12:45 PM (EST)